The Tony Awards were last night(my personal favorite awards show), and here are my best dressed from the evening:

Who do you think shined on the red carpet?

 

I am in the works of a new sewing project. This time it is for my friend who will be having a baby boy any day now! I decided to make her a cute baby bib; something handmade and useful. (Which is always the key to handmade gifts.) I will post pictures and maybe a tutorial if I get enough requests to do so once I have completed it.

 

I believe fashion is not a word that should be associated with just clothes and accessories. To me, fashion is a broader term that encompasses not only these two things, but hair and makeup as well. Now that summer is in full force, my daily routines in these areas have changed as well as my wardrobe. It is time to look for new scents, makeup that lasts longer through the heat, and hair styles that are as simple as they are cute.

These are some of my new favorite finds for under $25 that I’ll be using over the next few months:

Makeup:

Rimmel Natural Bronzer in 021(Sunlight)– It has natural minerals and blends in perfectly. This never leaves my side in the summer. Since my face is slightly paler than the rest of my body, this adds a nice sunkissed glow. $5.50

Liplicious Tasty Lip Color in Passionfruit Guava– This lipgloss from Bath and Body works has the right amount of color with an added bonus: it tastes as good as it smells and looks! The passionfruit is my particular favorite, but they have a variety of colors and scents. $5

  Body:

Anti-Bacterial Moisturizing Hand Soap in Tropical Papaya– Another Bath and Body Works find, this liquid hand soap is just one of these new scents that have been added to their collection. I usually prefer foam soap, but this one leaves my hands soft and smelling good for hours. $5

Olay Microdermabrasion and Peel Kit- Now that summer is here, so are the days of makeup-free, au naturale skin. Unfortunately, not all of us are blessed with flawless tan skin. I decided to pick this kit up to lighten some scarring and even out my skin tone. I have had about 6 sessions(twice a week) and can already see a big improvement. (The kit suggests at least 8 treatments to see results) The whole process only takes about 3 minutes, and you can choose to do them twice or once a week. It is very easy on my skin and I haven’t had anything but good things come out of using it. $23

Hair:

Tresemme Freshstart Dry Shampoo– Though the rage about dry shampoo has been skyrocketed in the past year, this product has been around much longer than that. Almost every hair company has their own version now, but as a girl on a budget, I was relieved and ecstatic when I found out that Tresemme was releasing one too. Dry shampoos come in either a spray or powder form(I prefer spray). This product is a spray and does the job in no time flat with no messy powders getting all over your clothes and face. $5.50

Revlon Perfect Heat Ceramic 1 1/2 inch Curling Iron- This has been a long time favorite after a friend suggested it to me. My hair is fairly straight and can never hold a curl for longer than 5 minutes, but this product has been a breakthrough. It has 20 heat settings(I always keep it on 30) and heats up in only 60 seconds. Taylor Swift is a fan of this product too! $13

 

What are your summer beauty “Must Haves”?

 -M

