Here are my Fourth of July looks I sported this weekend:

I made the dress on the bottom for Independance Day because I realized I had nothing to wear that was red, white, and blue chic, and still comfortable for a hot summer day. This farbic was on sale at JoAnns and I originally planned to make a summer dress out of it..just not this soon! However, I loved the way it turned out and I believe it was a great option for the holiday. What I also love is that I can wear this again and again, just as I planned. For more pictures, check out my Craftster post!

(I did not use a pattern, nor did I copy it. I knew I wanted a strapless dress with ruffles because they make petites(like me!) seem fuller in certain areas. I balanced out the ruffles on top with two rows of smaller ruffles at the bottom. Funny thing about the back: I wanted to achieve this in my head, but didn’t know how, so I was going to settle with a regular straight seam up the back. After fitting it around my body, double checking that I had enough fabric, somehow my measurements were misjudged. This dress was a second attempt since I shorted myself the first time. I realized my mistake was when and where I put the elastic at the top. I inserted the elastic through the top of the dress AFTER I sewed on the ruffles. This in turn made the top no longer stretchy. So, since the top of my dress wasn’t going to fit as planned, I decided to sew it up as much as I can, and then create a deep “V”. Now what I was left with was a large section of exposed elastic. What I did next was cover the elastic with fabric, and added two pieces of farbic to each side that would tie together. I love how the dress is modest, but a little sexy in the back showing some skin.)

Let me know what you think!

Now that the relaxing holiday weekend is over and we all have to go back to our normal routines, I thought it would be a good idea to introduce some new sites to check out and spice up your work week.

The first is Gilt Groupe. This is a member’s only online website that offers name brand designer clothes for up to 70% off the original price tag. They are always updating and having new sales each week, and they offer Womens, Mens, Home Decor, and even Vacation deals. Just request a membership here! And once you get approved, you can earn money by inviting friends to join. Right now, I am loving their sale for Gryphon and Carolina Herrera!

Another discount website to check out is TheTopSecret.com. Again, you have to apply for a membership, but if you get approved, you can recieve up to 75% off name brand prices! What is a little tricky about this site is that the sales only last for a few days, and things sell out really fast.

-M

