The beginning of each year always brings something new: new classes, new resolutions, and of course a newer, improved YOU. This stays true for fashion’s biggest driving force, trends. Though winter staples such as clogs, shearling jackets, and minimalistic outfits will be carried into Spring, here are some things to look out for in the coming months.

  • Nautical stripes are back again
  • Texture is key! Velvet, lace, and feathers are fun ways to spice up a plain outfit
  • The color for Spring is Honeysuckle. This bright and bold pinkish hue will make transitioning into the warmer months that much easier
  • Pattern mixing (especially florals) all are the rage
  • Instead of using dark colors to achieve a minimalist look, opt for nudes and peaches instead

Using this knowledge, I will be creating a mood board for my FIDM entrance project. FIDM is a very unique school in that they require all of their applicants to complete an entrance project according to their desired major. Since I would like to major in Fashion Design, I must create a mood board of my choice using all types of mediums, and then render six additional sketches that are inspired by the board. I’m hoping to complete this and the rest of my application by the end of the month!

Stay fashionable!

-M

