Since my last post, I have been struggling with my entrance exam to FIDM. At first, ideas for sketches came instantly and I liked them a lot. Now re-reading over the project guidelines, I have yet to put together my mood board.  I almost always derive my inspiration from clothes I see in stores, magazines, fashion shows, etc, and then create sketches that combine all of those medias into things I would like to wear. However, this time around I am having trouble with pinpointing exactly what my six sketches are inspired by.

I took a recent trip to JoAnns to look at possible items I could put on my board, but came out with only a few things. Nothing caught my attention, or coincided with the sketches I had already drawn. I was beginning to second guess myself and thought about starting over.

After countless hours of thinking and looking over the drawings I already completed, I began to discover something great. I was no longer upset about the unsuccessful trip to the store. It was finally clear to me that what I had to do was to become my own inspiration. I truly like the garments I created, and I am determined to make the board work with them. Just because a store doesn’t have what you want, doesn’t mean YOU can’t create it!

Now I want to know, what inspires YOU?

In looking for different means of inspiration, I stumbled upon the Spring 2011 runway shows on Style.com. Some of my favorite collections so far are  Badgley Mischka, Balmain, BCBG Max Azria, Bottega Veneta, Burberry Prorsum, Chanel, and Chloe just to name a FEW!

What S/S 11 shows did you love?

Guess it’s back to sketching…till next time! Go be inspired.

-M

