I’ve noticed lately that when I buy a certain product, I tend to buy more of the same product in a short amount of time. For example my shoe rampant(seen here). While in San Diego this past weekend, I ended up getting three CD’s…and I NEVER buy CD’s! They were just too good of a deal to pass up. This post however, is dedicated to my recent splurge in beauty products.

(From left to right: 1. Cargo Lash Activator Duo, 2.Covergirl Smoky ShadowBlast, 3. Makeup Forever HD Primer, 4. MAC Paint Pot Eyeshadow primer)

1. I have been using this mascara for the past few months since it came in the Safari makeup kit. Unfortunately my old one is almost gone, so when I saw this perfect travel sized duo for $15, I knew it was worth trying. The white tube is used at night and coats your lashes in a clear liquid that is supposed to increase the size of your lashes in just 30 days. So far I haven’t noticed a difference, but in the meantime I am very happy that I have a new tube of the regular, fantastic mascara. Verdict?: Buy!

2. I bought this product on a whim since it was a part of a B1G1 50% sale at Wal-Greens. My expectations were high, since most things I have used in the past from CG were of decent quality. All I can say is, I am glad I did not purchase this at full price($8)! It does not last more than one hour without creasing and a re-application is needed. This is disappointing because the creme rolls on really well and is very easy to apply and go. Even with the MAC eyeshadow primer, it only extending the wear time before creasing to about 3 hours. Verdict?: Don’t buy!

3. I’ve been playing with a few different all over face primers and the Makeup Forever one is my most recent. This was also $15, and works decently. I haven’t noticed that big of an advantage compared to others, but I don’t regret buying it. The primer might work better combined with the same brands’ HD Finishing Powder, which I plan to try soon. Verdict?: Mixed. It might work better for others, but I think my favorite so far is still the Bare Minerals primer.

4. This is my first ever purchase from MAC, and I am already hooked! I have been looking for a way to help my eyeshadow stay on longer, and this does just the trick. There are two options from MAC, the Paint Pot which I purchased and lasts for 8 hours, and a Paint Tube that lasts for 12. This is a neutral primer, which allows me to use both light and dark-colored shadows on top. For only $16.50, it really works and is going to last me FOREVER. Verdict?: Definitely buy!

(Top image: 5. E.L.F Powder Brush. Bottom image: 6. Mini Eyeshadow Palette also by E.LF.)

5. I haven’t personally purchased this brush yet, but I borrowed it from a friend and in just one use I fell in love! It is super soft, gentle on your face, but still covers really well. Best part of all? It’s only $3! Verdict?: Definitely buy! This is a steal and works better than the Bare Mineral brushes I currently use.

6. This was my very first E.L.F purchase and I can already tell I will be buying much more from them in the coming months! This eyeshadow palette(which actually varies in shades from the one I have) was only $5. I have to use these with the MAC primer, otherwise they do not last for more than a few hours. Verdict?: Buy only with primer.

What are some of your new favorite beauty products? What is your favorite makeup line?

-M

