As you all know, I have been recently accepted into FIDM for their Professional Designation program as a Fashion Design major. Though this has been my dream school for years, I am constantly being reminded of the pressures of getting a Bachelor degree instead. I’m currently weighing my options and making many pro’s and con’s lists between attending FIDM or possibly going to another school. One in particular that I am considering is The Art Institute of San Diego. The Art Institutes are well-known and offer a variety of majors, including a Bachelor’s in Fashion Design. My boyfriend will be attending AI as a Culinary Arts major, so the thought of us able to attend the same school is one of the major pro’s for going there. We were able to tour the SF campus last year, and I was surprised with how high-tech and modern the buildings and equipment are. This weekend, I have been invited to attend the “IT” Fashion Show at Loews Coronado Bay Resort in San Diego. This annual fashion show showcases select collections from senior AI Fashion Design and Fashion Marketing and Management students. I will also be touring the campus and housing that is offered through AI. I am hoping this weekend will aid me in making a final decision between the two schools.

It is always important to get as much information as you can before making a big decision such as this. I have found out bad things about both schools lately, which has caused me to be weary. Read reviews from current and past students on Yelp. This has opened my eyes to all the smoke and mirrors colleges/institutions put up just to make you want to come to their school.

-M

On a brighter note, I am currently working on a fun new scholarship project for AI. The project guidelines include: choosing a movie actress, drawing two unique design sketches(one casual and one red carpet look), and include an inspiration board and a one page typed letter explaining your choices. I decided to go with Emma Stone. Here is a little sample of what I have gathered so far… :

I hope everyone has a safe Memorial Day weekend!

-M

