This past weekend was a nice balance of fun and relaxation. To start it off, I toured the AI student housing complex and school. Unfortunately, I accidentally deleted all of the pictures I took at these places. I was a little underwhelmed with both, but here’s a more specified list on what I liked and didn’t like.

HousingLikes:

  • Very nice on the outside, good upkeep on landscape
  • Amenities include a big pool and jacuzzi, 3 tennis courts, and a small 24 hour gym
  • Each person gets their own decent sized closet
  • Close to the school

The Art InstituteLikes:

  • Laid-back atmosphere
  • Friendly staff
  • Two sewing labs
  • Able to rent out video/camera equipment for FREE
  • Tutors available

HousingDislikes:

  • Small room sizes
  • Most furniture is wooden
  • No TV provided
  • Small kitchen
  • Apartments house 4 people total
  • “Clubhouse” closes at 6pm

AIDislikes:

  • Very small campus
  • Cafeteria was small and limited on food choices
  • The Palate is only open on Mondays and Tuesdays
  • Small classroom size
  • Seemed to focus on drawing more than clothing construction

I also found out that AI is only accredited by ACCSCT but is currently in the process of obtaining accreditation by WASC, which supports FIDM. This means that if I wanted to further my education and receive a Master’s at Parsons or FIT, I would most likely have to start my education all over again. This news was unsettling to say the least!

With the disappointment still lingering through the night, I attended the Alterna “IT” Fashion Show with low expectations. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the whole production. The hotel was beautiful, everyone was dressed up, there were professional photographers, and best of all, my friend and I were able to score good seats! Out of the ten or so collections shown, I only disliked three of them. Hope you all enjoy the pictures!

-M

